Christmas in a hotel sounds simple enough, but in Ireland the difference between a standard festive room booking and a dedicated Christmas package can mean hundreds of euros and a very different holiday. Irish hotel Christmas packages typically bundle multiple meals, festive drinks, and timed events rather than offering room-only stays, according to a roundup of 30 Christmas hotel breaks published by Independent.ie. This guide compares the top packages across price, inclusions, and family-friendliness, using real listings from 2022 through 2026, so you can decide which style of Christmas break suits your budget and expectations.
Last checked: 2026-07-14
Compare the lowest rates and guest reviews. Many options with free cancellation.Check rates
Bundle flight + hotel and compare deals and rewards in one place.Check ratesThis link contains affiliate advertising. Prices and availability may change on the destination site.
Clontarf Castle Hotel: 4-star, Magical Christmas Festive Breaks, covers Christmas Eve to St. Stephen’s Day · Sheen Falls Lodge: 3-night Christmas package from €110 per night, breakfast included · Newpark Hotel Kilkenny: Family Christmas Hotel Breaks Ireland 2026, includes Santa experience · Dromoland Castle: Featured in Independent.ie roundup of 30 Christmas hotel breaks in Ireland for 2023
How we researched this
Last checked: 2026-07-14.
Sources reviewed: Official property websites, national tourism publications, local travel guides, lifestyle journalism features.
We performed no on-site visit, no staff interview, and no independent verification of prices. All pricing and inclusion details are drawn from published listings and may vary by year and availability.
Snapshot: Ireland’s Christmas Hotel Package Landscape
- Irish hotel Christmas offers usually bundle multiple meals, festive drinks, and activities rather than room-only stays. (Independent.ie)
- Christmas packages in Ireland can be booked as one-, two-, or three-night stays, giving guests control over length and budget. (Independent.ie)
- Two-night Christmas stay at the Shelbourne from €770 per person sharing, while Ballyfin Demesne starts at €1,960 per night. (The Irish Times)
- Tourism Ireland promoted a festive package spanning 24–27 December with Christmas Eve dinner and a Christmas morning cruise. (Tourism Ireland)
Christmas in hotels Ireland: What the Packages Actually Include
A standard Christmas hotel stay usually means accommodation plus whatever festive decorations the property puts up. A dedicated Christmas package, by contrast, is a timed programme that typically runs from Christmas Eve to St Stephen’s Day. The Irish Times reported in 2023 that Christmas packages at properties like the Shelbourne and Mount Juliet Estate include multiple meals, entertainment, and guest activities bundled into a per-person rate. At the Shelbourne, the 2023 two-night package started at €770 per person sharing, with children under 16 at €350 each, covering breakfast, a Christmas gift, a Santa visit, and a Christmas lunch or dinner.
The Independent.ie roundup of 30 Christmas hotel breaks in Ireland noted that “Christmas packages tend to bundle everything from mulled wine receptions to champagne breakfasts, Christmas dinner and an evening supper.” That bundle structure means guests do not pay separately for each meal or activity — the price is set and the schedule is fixed.
Regional differences matter. Dublin luxury hotels such as the Shelbourne and Radisson Blu St Helen’s tend to price higher per person, while country-house hotels in Kildare or Kilkenny sometimes offer lower entry points. Lucinda O’Sullivan reported a Christmas Day package at Radisson Blu St Helen’s from €139 per person sharing, including sparkling wine, chocolates, breakfast, and Christmas Day lunch — notably less than the Shelbourne’s multi-night rate.
The bottom line: A package is not simply a room booking with a turkey dinner thrown in. It is a programmed residential experience, and the inclusions — not just the price — determine whether it offers value for your specific group.
Christmas in a hotel near me: Searching Local Options Across Ireland
For readers searching “Christmas in a hotel near me” within Ireland, the relevant set includes every county where hotels offer festive breaks. The Independent.ie roundup covered 30 hotels across the island, from Dromoland Castle to Sheen Falls Lodge, suggesting strong geographic spread. Tourism Ireland’s festive package feature also uses an all-island frame, promoting packages in both the Republic and Northern Ireland.
Practical search approach: Check the hotel’s own website under “Christmas” or “Festive Breaks” — most properties publish their packages directly, often with a downloadable PDF. The Dromoland Castle PDF of the Independent.ie roundup is one example of how hotels make these offers transparent. The Irish Guide noted specific December windows — stays on 24–26 December or 25–27 December — as typical check-in patterns that create a standard festive calendar.
Examples of Localised Packages
Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin offers Magical Christmas Festive Breaks covering Christmas Eve to St Stephen’s Day. Newpark Hotel in Kilkenny already advertises 2026 family Christmas breaks that include a Santa experience. Sheen Falls Lodge in Kerry published a 2022 listing at €110 per night for a three-night package with breakfast included — a markedly lower entry price than the Dublin luxury tier.
“It’s an atmospheric setting and it should be a relaxing break.”
— Ireland Guide, on Christmas hotel stays
Why this matters: If you are searching locally, filter by county and check whether the package covers meals and activities you would otherwise pay for separately at a restaurant or attraction. The package might save money, but only if you would actually use the inclusions.
2 night Christmas Hotel breaks Ireland: Comparing Short Stays vs Multi-Night Packages
Two-night Christmas breaks appeal to guests who want the festive experience without committing to the full Christmas Eve–St Stephen’s Day stretch. Independent.ie’s roundup confirmed that packages can be booked as one-, two-, or three-night stays. Sheen Falls Lodge, however, offers a three-night package as standard, suggesting that some properties prefer the longer format.
| Hotel Name | Location | Package Type | Price (per night) | Duration | Inclusions | Best For |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clontarf Castle Hotel | Dublin | Magical Christmas Festive Break | Not specified | Christmas Eve–St Stephen’s Day | Meals, events, festive programme | Families, couples |
| Dunboyne Castle Hotel | Meath | Residential Christmas package | Not specified | 2–3 nights | Meals, drinks, activities | Couples, luxury seekers |
| Newpark Hotel Kilkenny | Kilkenny | Family Christmas break 2026 | Not specified | Not specified | Santa experience, family activities | Families |
| Sheen Falls Lodge | Kerry | 3-night Christmas package | €110 | 3 nights | Breakfast included | Budget-conscious |
| Dromoland Castle | Clare | 4-night Christmas package | €1,530 per person sharing | 4 nights | Full board, festive events | Luxury travellers |
The Irish Guide highlighted a 2-night Christmas package from about €2,100 at one property and a twixmas option from €572 per person sharing, illustrating the pricing range between peak Christmas and the post-Christmas period. A twixmas break — typically 27–30 December — can cost significantly less while still offering festive atmosphere.
The trade-off: Two-night packages offer flexibility and lower total spend, but three- or four-night residential packages typically include more meals and activities per night, potentially delivering better value if you plan to stay put.
For those looking to compare multi-night deals in other destinations, check out our guide to 2-Night London Hotel Deals: Compare Prices & Save Up to 70%.
Christmas hotel packages 2026: Early Planning and Forward Pricing
Newpark Hotel Kilkenny already advertises 2026 family Christmas breaks, making it one of the earliest published packages for that year. For 2026 packages more broadly, readers should expect pricing to shift year to year based on inflation and demand. The 2024 feature from The Irish Times on five-star hotels — including Ballyfin Demesne at €1,960 per night for a three-night stay — suggests that ultra-luxury pricing has been climbing.
Mount Juliet Estate’s 2023 pricing of €1,215 per person sharing for three nights and €1,499 for four nights provides a baseline for what a luxury estate package costs. Dromoland Castle’s 2023-era four-night package at €1,530 per person sharing fits a similar tier. For 2026, early booking may secure current rates before annual increases are applied.
The pattern: Hotels that publish 2026 packages early — like Newpark Hotel — are signalling that forward planning is possible. Expect 2026 rates to be at or above 2023–2024 levels, with the biggest increases at the ultra-luxury end represented by Ballyfin Demesne.
If you are also considering themed hotel experiences, see our overview of ABBA Voyage Hotel Deals 2025 & 2026 | Compare Packages.
All inclusive Hotel Christmas packages Ireland: What Full Board Really Means
“All-inclusive” at Christmas in Irish hotels generally means full board covering breakfast, Christmas lunch or dinner, and evening meals across the stay, plus festive drinks receptions and scheduled activities. Independent.ie noted that “Christmas packages tend to bundle everything from mulled wine receptions to champagne breakfasts, Christmas dinner and an evening supper” — essentially all-inclusive within the hotel’s festive schedule.
Tourism Ireland described a specific package running 24–27 December that included “Christmas Eve dinner, a Christmas morning cruise with traditional music and hot whiskies, wine and gin tasting, and festive films.” That level of programming — multiple meals plus daily activities — represents the top end of all-inclusive Christmas breaks.
Hotels Offering All-Inclusive Festive Breaks
Clontarf Castle and Dunboyne Castle both offer residential packages that cover meals, drinks, and activities. The Novel Traveller reported a two-night Christmas package at a hotel with breakfast, mulled wine and mince pies on Christmas Eve, Christmas Eve dinner, Christmas Day buffet, festive sandwiches on Christmas night, and late checkout on St Stephen’s Day — a template for the all-inclusive Christmas break structure.
“But it’s important to check what the price includes when weighing up the value.”
— Independent.ie roundup guidance
Not all packages labelled “all-inclusive” cover the same items. Some exclude premium drinks, some cap children’s activities, and some do not include Christmas Eve dinner if you check in on Christmas Day. The Radisson Blu St Helen’s package from €139 per person sharing covered Christmas Day lunch but not a full multi-night stay, making it a Christmas Day-only all-inclusive offer rather than a residential package.
What to watch: Always read the full inclusion list. A package that says “all-inclusive” but omits Christmas dinner or evening drinks may not deliver the value the label suggests.
Our Pick: Best Christmas Hotel Packages for Different Travellers
Recommended for Families: Newpark Hotel Kilkenny
Newpark Hotel already publishes 2026 family Christmas breaks that include a Santa experience, making it the strongest option for families with young children who want a guaranteed festive programme. The family focus and early booking availability reduce last-minute stress.
Recommended for Couples: Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle’s Magical Christmas Festive Break covers Christmas Eve to St Stephen’s Day with a full programme of meals and events in a historic setting. The Dublin location also offers proximity to city attractions for couples who want to step out between festivities.
Recommended for Luxury Seekers: Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet’s three-night package at €1,215 per person sharing (2023 pricing) includes multiple dining occasions and estate activities without reaching the Ballyfin Demesne price tier. It represents strong value within the luxury segment.
Recommended for Budget-Conscious: Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge offered a three-night Christmas package from €110 per night with breakfast included — significantly below other castle hotel pricing. For guests who want the Christmas hotel experience at the lowest entry point, this remains the standout option from available listings.
Recommended for First-Time Christmas Hotel Goers: Radisson Blu St Helen’s
The Christmas Day package at €139 per person sharing is a low-commitment way to test the Christmas hotel experience without booking a full multi-night stay. It includes sparkling wine, chocolates, breakfast, and Christmas Day lunch — enough to feel festive without the full residential commitment.
thegloss.ie, thebrehon.com, celticcastles.com, powerscourthotel.com, theshelbourne.com, hayfieldmanor.ie
For those who prefer a festive meal without the full overnight stay, many hotels also offer Christmas hotel buffet packages that include live music and seasonal menus.
FAQs About Christmas in a Hotel
What is included in a Christmas hotel package?
Irish Christmas packages typically bundle multiple meals (Christmas Eve dinner, Christmas Day lunch or dinner, and St Stephen’s Day breakfast), festive drinks receptions, and scheduled activities such as Santa visits, music, and games. Independent.ie reported that “Christmas packages tend to bundle everything from mulled wine receptions to champagne breakfasts, Christmas dinner and an evening supper.”
How much do Christmas hotel packages in Ireland cost?
Prices range from €110 per night at Sheen Falls Lodge (2022 listing) to €1,960 per night at Ballyfin Demesne (2024 listing). The Shelbourne’s 2023 two-night package started at €770 per person sharing, while Mount Juliet Estate’s three-night package was €1,215 per person sharing. Mid-range options like Radisson Blu St Helen’s offered a Christmas Day package at €139 per person sharing.
Are there all-inclusive Christmas hotel packages in Ireland?
Yes, many hotels offer all-inclusive festive breaks covering full board plus drinks receptions and activities. Clontarf Castle, Dunboyne Castle, and the Tourism Ireland–featured package (24–27 December, including cruise and gin tasting) are examples. However, inclusion lists vary, so always verify what is covered before booking.
When should I book a Christmas hotel package?
Hotels begin publishing packages up to a year in advance — Newpark Hotel already advertises 2026 family breaks. For popular properties like the Shelbourne or Dromoland Castle, booking several months ahead is advisable. Packages for the current year typically appear from mid-year onward.
Can I find Christmas hotel packages near me?
Yes — the Independent.ie roundup covered 30 hotels across Ireland from Clare to Kerry to Dublin, and Tourism Ireland promotes all-island festive packages. Search hotel websites under “Christmas” or “Festive Breaks” to find options within driving distance.
What is the typical duration of a Christmas hotel break?
Most packages run from Christmas Eve (24 December) to St Stephen’s Day (26 December), typically 2–3 nights. Some properties like Dromoland Castle offer four-night packages. Twixmas options (27–30 December) are also available and tend to cost less.
Do Christmas hotel packages include activities for children?
Many packages include dedicated children’s programming. Newpark Hotel Kilkenny advertises a Santa experience as part of its family break, and the Shelbourne’s package included a Santa visit. Larger estates like Mount Juliet and Dromoland often offer family activities such as walks, games, and supervised sessions.
Are Christmas hotel packages refundable?
Cancellation and deposit terms vary by property and are not standardised. The Irish Times and Independent.ie roundups do not include deposit policies, so check directly with the hotel before booking. Some packages may require full pre-payment with limited refund windows.
Sample Itinerary: A Three-Night Christmas Hotel Break in Ireland
This sample itinerary is based on a typical residential Christmas package running from 24–27 December, as promoted by Tourism Ireland and described by multiple hotel listings. It illustrates the meal-and-activity rhythm that defines the Christmas hotel experience.
- 24 December (Christmas Eve): Arrival and check-in. Mulled wine and mince pies reception in the afternoon. Christmas Eve dinner in the hotel restaurant, often a multi-course set menu.
- 25 December (Christmas Day): Christmas breakfast buffet. Mid-morning Santa visit for children or a Christmas morning cruise (as Tourism Ireland described, with traditional music and hot whiskies). Christmas lunch or dinner — the main festive meal. Evening drinks and social time.
- 26 December (St Stephen’s Day): Late breakfast followed by a festive film screening or outdoor walk. Wine and gin tasting (as in the Tourism Ireland package). Evening supper or buffet.
- 27 December: Breakfast and late checkout, often as late as midday or early afternoon, as noted by The Novel Traveller’s package description.
This three-night structure covers 8–10 meals plus daily activities. The Independent.ie roundup emphasised that the bundle format means guests pay one upfront price rather than arranging meals separately.
Sources Cited
- Independent.ie via Dromoland Castle PDF — Roundup of 30 Christmas hotel breaks in Ireland, package composition and pricing.
- The Irish Times (12 November 2023) — Christmas hotel roundup including Shelbourne, Mount Juliet pricing and inclusions.
- The Irish Times (20 December 2024) — Five-star Christmas hotel feature with Ballyfin Demesne pricing.
- Tourism Ireland — All-island festive package example, dates, and activities.
- Lucinda O’Sullivan — Christmas hotel listings including Shelbourne and Radisson Blu St Helen’s packages.
- Ireland Guide — Festive stay examples, twixmas pricing, and booking windows.
- The Novel Traveller — Two-night Christmas package description with inclusion details.